The Walking Stick Memoriam #2; A White Gaucho Knot Is Next


A white Gaucho knot adds looks and visibility.

A white Gaucho knot adds looks and visibility.

This is actually the third knot, counting up form the bottom. The Spanish Ring knot helps to hold on the rubber cane tip. This knot also has a secondary function other than looks. When I was first putting the knots on this cane, my thought was to put dark-colored knots towards the lower end — they wouldn’t show staining as quickly. Twice in one week I had people try to kick my stick out from under me because they hadn’t seen it in a crowded store. I went home after the second event and cut off the black Turk’s Head that was here and replaced it with this white knot. It solved the problem.

This knot is:

A Gaucho knot of 2 passes, tied in paracord. The count for the Leads and Bights are gone with the knot. For some reason I don’t have the slightest idea which knot I ended up putting here. After all the help it gave me over the years, it seems a shame I don’t recall it better.

Thank you for coming by my site. Come back again; the knots get more dramatic as you go higher up the walking stick:

William

Published in: on February 4, 2010 at 1:59 AM  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://itsknotart.wordpress.com/2010/02/04/the-walking-stick-memoriam-2-a-white-gaucho-knot-is-next/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment