The Walking Stick Memoriam #3; A Pineapple Knot In Two Colors Of Paracord


A bi-color Pineapple knot is next.

A bi-color Pineapple knot is next.

This knot dresses the bottom end of a length of 2 Bight Turk’s Head which was done in an open weave. It is also a remeinder of the time when I was just learning to put interweaves on my Turk’s Head knots. Today I probably wouldn’t leave this knot on a walking stick for the world to see. At the time, it was near the top of my knotting skills. I’m sure if I’m still alive in another 15 years, I’ll say the same about the pictures I’m taking today. Of course, it could be much worse — if you practice a skill for 10 or 15 years and you didn’t get better that would be much worse.

The knot of today’s post is:

This is a bi-colored Pineapple knot. If I remeber correctly, and I wouldn’t bet the farm on it, the base knot in white paracord was of 9 Leads X 8 Bights. The intereave was done with the wider visual border created by stopping the weave one crossing short of the standard Pineapple knot. Using Tom Hall’s nomenclature, as near as I can figure it, this would have a 2–2 structure.

To the right of this knot you can see the start of the next. My Lady Rose likes the look of a more open weave. Both of these knots exhibit this nature, the next more so than this.

Thank you for dropping by my site. If you know of any way by which I could improve either my site, or my knots, sing out. I would like to hear from you. Come back again; I’ll work my way up the walking stick:

William

Published in: on February 10, 2010 at 12:49 AM  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://itsknotart.wordpress.com/2010/02/10/the-walking-stick-memoriam-3-a-pineapple-knot-in-two-colors-of-paracord/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

