Medicine Bottle # 43; A Bi-colored Pineapple Variant Covers Two Inches Of This 4″ Bottle.


Medicine Bottle #43; covered by a bi-colored, 2" long Pineapple knot variation.

Medicine Bottle #43; covered by a bi-colored, 2" long Pineapple knot variation.

Medicine Bottle #43; Back to the more normal prescription medicine bottles. This bottle is about 4″ overall; the knot covers just barely over 2″ of that. This knot didn’t increase the diameter too much, but it did make it much easier to open.

The knot on this bottle is:

This knot has my PPA (Phony Patent Pending) edge treatment. By stopping short of the edge bights of the knot by one crossing, a bolder border is formed. Particularly if two different colored knots abut one another, this makes for a more well-defined edge between them. Besides, this is the look that My Lady Rose likes.

The base knot in this interweave is a Turk’s Head of 13 Leads X 12 Bights, in green and black paracord. I always wondered how one specified the structure of a Herringbone or Pineapple knot. Last year I bought Tom Hall’s excellent work on the Turk’s Head and some of its variants. Now I know that I should give the total counted Leads and Bights, as well as which type of knot it is. As near as I can puzzle out, by his system this knot would be: a Pineapple knot of 2 passes, with an edge type of 2-2, with a total of 23 Leads X 25 Bights.

There is a saying around this part of the country: I don’t know much, and I don’t understand all I know. That about sums up me and my relationship to some of these knots.

If I am just tying whichever knot pops to mind and choosing whether or not to insinuate an interweave with its structure later, I call that “The Monkey Method Of Tying Knots”. I am quite capable of tying a knot which I can only roughly name. Trying to eliminate that hole in my knowledge of knots is taking some work, more work than actually cranking out the knots. I persevere, but progress only slowly — if I were a boat I would be a barge: slow, slab-sided and ungainly, without is own power source or steering gear, blundering along and going as much where the current goes as where I wish.

Thank you for coming by my site. I greatly appreciate your visits. If you have any ideas on how I can improve either my knots, or my site, sing out. That is the only way I will learn, and is the real reason I am here:

William

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://itsknotart.wordpress.com/2010/01/25/medicine-bottle-43-a-bi-colored-pineapple-variant-covers-two-inches-of-this-4-bottle/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

