Medicine Bottle # 37; A Gaucho Knot Flanked By Turk’s Head Knots Makes Proper Attire For This Bottle


Medicine Bottle #37; Two black Turk's Heads flank a white Gaucho knot in doubled strands.

Medicine Bottle #37; Two black Turk's Heads flank a white Gaucho knot in doubled strands.

This bottle is the next piece in the “Medicine Bottle Collection”. By now most of you know the story of these bottles, so I’ll go straight to tonight’s show.

The knots on this bottle are, from the top:

This knot is a Turk’s Head of 3 Leads X 13 Bights, in black paracord. It also serves as the carrier for the Sailor’s Knife Lanyard knot. I leave the tails long on these to increase my chances of finding them while groping around in dim light. I got the idea from a guy I knew who would come home so drunk he had to crawl along the garden hose to find the door to his house. One night his wife detached the hose and threw both ends into the middle of the lawn. He was still there the next morning.

The feature knot is one of my favorites, a Gaucho knot of 9 Leads X 7 Bights, doubled in paracord. This one is white, but to me it is the weave that makes these look so nice. They are also above average in their grip improvement skills. I think the over 2, under 2, weave when doubled makes more distinct edges for your fingers to grip.

The bottom ring is a black Turk’s Head of 3 Leads X 8 Bights, also in paracord.

This is a smaller than average bottle, for holding smaller than average pills, I presume. Because of that, these knots cover the whole bottle … bring down the curtain, kill the lights, the show is over.

Thank you for coming by my site. If you know of any way by which I could improve either my knots or my site, please sing out. I would greatly appreciate hearing your ideas. Come back again; I’ll try to make sure the game is worth the candle:

William

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://itsknotart.wordpress.com/2010/01/04/medicine-bottle-37-a-gaucho-knot-flanked-by-turks-head-knots-makes-proper-attire-for-this-bottle/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

