A Screwdriver Handle Improved By A Two Bight Turk’s Head Knot


A srewdriver with a 2 - Bight Turk's Head knot on the grip.

A srewdriver with a 2 - Bight Turk's Head knot on the grip.

Most of the handles in the world are made for hands much smaller than mine. That’s OK, I get it; I’ve been in business and sales. You make/stock what they will buy, and most of the shoppers in the world have hands that are much smaller than mine. But because of this, I figure on putting knots on the handles of most things I buy at the first opportunity.

Because this tool was only for occausional use and light work, it got a light improvement. The knot is a Turk’s Head of 11 Leads X 2 Bights, doubled in black paracord.

This is the infamous make – it – as – long – as – you – want 2 Bight Turk’s Head knot. It is a handy knot to have in your ditty bag when you need to cover a tool handle. It may not be the most impressive knot you know, but its utility rating is very high. It will also close down to a very small diameter. I usually end up putting these on my pens and such with a braided twine. This improves the friction on the grip, and makes it larger around. I have put two or three layers on some pens that I used a lot to make them really fit my hand. Pens I only occasionally use are like this screwdriver — they get one knot of an open weave, then on to more important things.

Thank you for dropping by my site. I appreciate your visits, and any input you care to give. Come back again; I fired the only band which played out of tune in last year’s parade of knots:

William

Published in: on January 2, 2010 at 6:18 PM  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://itsknotart.wordpress.com/2010/01/02/a-screwdriver-handle-improved-by-a-two-bight-turks-head-knot/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

