A Top Down Close-Up Of One Of The White Wedding Roses Made From Nested Turk’s Head Knots



A top down close-up of a white rose made from Turk's Head knots.

A top down close-up of a white rose made from Turk's Head knots.

A gentleman residing overseas used the “Direct Message” link to make a request. He shall therefore remain nameless — but I am happy to comply with his desires. He wanted a detail shot of one of the large white roses, preferably top down. Luckily I had taken a couple of extra shots when I still had the wedding roses I made for a friend of My Lady Rose in hand.

To recap for those who came in after the opening credit roll, these roses were made by nesting different-sized Turk’s Head knots. The difference in size was achieved by tying knots with differing Lead and Bight counts. Also, some of the knots were of the same count, but were made with more passes. Some of the outer knots were tied with a Herringbone/Pineapple interweave that stopped short of the top rim. This allowed me to add strength and body to the knot where needed. Because I stopped the interweave short of the top edge, a casual observer would see no difference. The pollen-bearing stamen was imitated with a short tassel of embroidery floss.

Like all my knotted structures it had to comply with my self-appointed rules: no mandrel, no wire supports, no glue, no hidden tricks other than the knots themselves. The only things allowed other than the cords which form the main structure are other cordage add-ins, like the floss/stamen trick. I do allow myself some thread or twine used as seizings or sewing as a consolidating and bracing material. There is a limit to how much of this I consider sporting. Most of the actual structure for these roses comes from the paracord itself.

Mind you, unless the end user is another knot tyer I do not expect them to know or care about such things. For regular people you can only expect them to care about looks, and if applicable, function. I normally don’t even mention these arcane tidbits of knot tying lore.

Thank you for coming by my site. If you can think of any way I can improve my knots, or my site, please let me know. I greatly appreciate your visits, and any input you give me. Come back again; the  parade of knots goes on, and on, and on:

William

Published in: on December 25, 2009 at 7:28 PM  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://itsknotart.wordpress.com/2009/12/25/a-top-down-close-up-of-one-of-the-white-wedding-roses-made-from-nested-turks-head-knots/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

