A Bi-color Herringbone Knot Tied Over A PVC Pipe


A bi-color Herringbone knot on base Turk's Head of 5 Leads X 6 Bights.

A bi-color Herringbone knot on base Turk's Head of 5 Leads X 6 Bights.

This was a knot tied as a test for a project I had going. I needed to see which Lead and Bight count would fill the spot I had to cover. When I finished with it I thought it deserved at least a picture before being removed to salvage the cord.

The first two tries were either too small or too large. Having bracketed the range it wasn’t too hard to figure out which knot would fill the bill. To give you some scale the pipe holding this knot is a nominal 1 1/2″ PVC DWV pipe.

Both this knot and the project turned out to be successful.

The base knot on this was the one in green paracord. It was a Turk’s Head of 5 Leads X 6 Bights. The interweave was a little tight but ended up OK. I do tend to over tighten everything I tie — sometimes so tightly that I can’t finish an interweave and have to start over.

Thank you for coming by my site. All visits are appreciated. Come back again:

William

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://itsknotart.wordpress.com/2009/12/20/a-bi-color-herringbone-knot-tied-over-a-pvc-pipe-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

