Medicine Bottle #25: Two Gaucho Knots Cover It, And Add A Handsome Graphic Look


Medicine bottle #25: covered by 2 Gaucho knots. One bi-color, one O.D. Green.

Medicine bottle #25: covered by 2 Gaucho knots. One bi-color, one O.D. Green.

Medicine bottle #25: covered by 2 Gaucho knots. One bi-color, one O.D. Green.

Medicine bottle #25: covered by 2 Gaucho knots. One bi-color, one O.D. Green.

Today I am returning to the “Medicine Bottle Collection” — this piece is above average. For anyone who came in after the opening credits:
1. I take medicines every day, producing a steady supply of these little amber plastic bottles, type; one each, individual, with the little maddening adult-resistant, easy opening by young children tops.
2. I tie lots of knots, in part as a life-long hobby, and in part to keep from waking up in the morning with my hands locked in whichever position they were in during my sleep. Sometime karma works … I now have a legal, medical excuse, to do what I always wanted to do … tie knots.
3. Because of the hands-locking-up problem, I need to make the bottles easier to open. Because I have to take medicines in the middle of the night, I need to make them easy to find and identify in dim light.
All of this adds up to the fact that I could end up being crushed by a bottle slide late one night. In order to keep the number of bottles around here manageable, I ship off the older ones to a friend who volunteers in a free-meals for the needful type kitchen. When you don’t have much even little things count; for some of these people these bottles are not only useful, but are an item they could never make or buy. Small treasures … I try to make them all different in some way. This serves not only my needs but theirs. Maybe that karma thing is for their benefit and not mine. ???
The knots on this bottle are, from the top:
A Gaucho knot of 3 passes, done in black & white paracord. I have always called the graphic effect in these bi-color Gaucho knots the “Lightening Bolt”. I have just recently been told that the same name is used in some parts of Australia for all Gaucho knots, even those of one color. It’s funny how things work sometimes.
The lower knot is a Gaucho knot of 2 passes, done in olive drab green paracord. I suppose that some olives are that color, but the U.S. Army seems to be the only outfit that can get them. Not to worry though … even if this bottle fell into a vat of genuine U.S. Army olives the black & white knot  would allow you to  find it easily.
The white “Lightening Bolt” (PPP >> Phony Patent Pending) makes this bottle easy to find and identify when hiding among its kith & kin. The knots also make the bottle easier to grip; Re: that easy opening thing.
Thank you for coming by my site; I do greatly appreciate it. If you can think of any way I can improve either my knots, or my site, sing out. The band is tuned up for the parade of knots, so come back again, you never know what the next tune will be:
William

Today I am returning to the “Medicine Bottle Collection” — this piece is above average. For anyone who came in after the opening credits:
1. I take medicines every day, producing a steady supply of these little amber plastic bottles, type; one each, individual, with the little maddening adult-resistant, easy opening by young children tops.
2. I tie lots of knots, in part as a life-long hobby, and in part to keep from waking up in the morning with my hands locked in whichever position they were in during my sleep. Sometime karma works … I now have a legal, medical excuse, to do what I always wanted to do … tie knots.
3. Because of the hands-locking-up problem, I need to make the bottles easier to open. Because I have to take medicines in the middle of the night, I need to make them easy to find and identify in dim light.
All of this adds up to the fact that I could end up being crushed by a bottle slide late one night. In order to keep the number of bottles around here manageable, I ship off the older ones to a friend who volunteers in a free-meals for the needful type kitchen. When you don’t have much even little things count; for some of these people these bottles are not only useful, but are an item they could never make or buy. Small treasures … I try to make them all different in some way. This serves not only my needs but theirs. Maybe that karma thing is for their benefit and not mine. ???
The knots on this bottle are, from the top:
A Gaucho knot of 3 passes, done in black & white paracord. I have always called the graphic effect in these bi-color Gaucho knots the “Lightening Bolt”. I have just recently been told that the same name is used in some parts of Australia for all Gaucho knots, even those of one color. It’s funny how things work sometimes.
The lower knot is a Gaucho knot of 2 passes, done in olive drab green paracord. I suppose that some olives are that color, but the U.S. Army seems to be the only outfit that can get them. Not to worry though … even if this bottle fell into a vat of genuine U.S. Army olives the black & white knot  would allow you to  find it easily.
The white “Lightening Bolt” (PPP >> Phony Patent Pending) makes this bottle easy to find and identify when hiding among its kith & kin. The knots also make the bottle easier to grip; Re: that easy opening thing.
Thank you for coming by my site; I do greatly appreciate it. If you can think of any way I can improve either my knots, or my site, sing out. The band is tuned up for the parade of knots, so come back again, you never know what the next tune will be:

William

Published in: on December 6, 2009 at 2:23 AM  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://itsknotart.wordpress.com/2009/12/06/medicine-bottle-25-two-gaucho-knots-cover-it-and-add-a-handsome-graphic-look/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

