The Viking Knit In Silver Wire: Take Two



Viking Knit In Silver Wire

"Viking Knit" courtesy and copyright of Rocio Bearer

A few days ago I wrote a post about an Internet find: a jeweler’s site with a page about a “Viking Knit”. The thing that really impressed me was this picture with the two samples done in silver wire. I won’t repeat all I said in that post, but it would repay your efforts to read both of these posts as if they were one. I thought that perhaps I had failed to explain it well enough to make it as interesting as it is. I asked the people at Rocio Fine Arts if I could use one of their pictures so that I could do a better job. The wooden base the samples are displayed on is the drawplate used to reduce the diameter and refine the shape. I don’t think fender/rib hitching gets such an elegant treatment or such classy materials very often. Mind you, I still don’t think I’m going to develop a taste for fender hitching, but I might borrow the concept to use on some knot or sinnet.
I do remember in Bruce Grant’s book on braiding rawhide horse tack that they would polish a plaited lariat by pulling it through a draw-plate. I don’t know what effect that would have on paracord — I might have to find out one day.
Thank you for dropping by. If you run across anything of interest on the net, and you do not have a place to post it, send me the link. If it fits in with my site I could post it so everybody could enjoy it. Come back again; I try to keep things moving:
William

A few days ago I wrote a post about an Internet find: a jeweler’s site with a page about a “Viking Knit”. The thing that really impressed me was this picture with the two samples done in silver wire. I won’t repeat all I said in that post, but it would repay your efforts to read both of these posts as if they were one. I thought that perhaps I had failed to explain it well enough to make it as interesting as it is. I asked the people at Rocio Fine Arts if I could use one of their pictures so that I could do a better job. The wooden base the samples are displayed on is the drawplate used to reduce the diameter and refine the shape. I don’t think fender/rib hitching gets such an elegant treatment or such classy materials very often. Mind you, I still don’t think I’m going to develop a taste for fender hitching, but I might borrow the concept to use on some knot or sinnet.
I do remember in Bruce Grant’s book on braiding rawhide horse tack that they would polish a plaited lariat by pulling it through a draw-plate. I don’t know what effect that would have on paracord — I might have to find out one day.
Thank you for dropping by. If you run across anything of interest on the net, and you do not have a place to post it, send me the link. If it fits in with my site I could post it so everybody could enjoy it. Come back again; I try to keep things moving:William

Published in: on December 4, 2009 at 11:34 PM  Comments (2)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://itsknotart.wordpress.com/2009/12/04/the-viking-knit-in-silver-wire-take-two/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You might also be interested in the information on my website. I do a lot of Viking knitting!

    http://janra-jewelry-designs.com/viking-knitting.html
    http://janra-jewelry-designs.com/creating-vk.html

    You should also check out Loren Damewood, who ties Turks Head knots with fine silver wire. I took a workshop from him and have made a few rings, but it is difficult!

    http://www.goldenknots.com/

    • It seems as if Ms. Jan Raven and I have fallen into a synchronicity wormhole. In order to allow myself some personal time for the holiday preparations, I had pre-posted some articles. One of them was my post about Mr. Loren Damewood’s site. I had already asked his permission, written the post, and scheduled it for post-dated auto-publishing. While I was off line and not watching my blog too closely, Ms. Raven left a comment with links to her site — and Mr. Damewood’s. The dance of illusion sometimes gets so well choreographed that it makes you blink to see if it is still the same.

      I went to Ms. Jan Raven’s sites. She does excellent wire work jewelry. In particular, and directly related to this post, she does some fantastic “Viking Knit” wire work. Mr. Damewood has some excellent tutorials on Turk’s Head knots. Both he and Ms. Raven have sites which are filled with wondrous jewelry made from wire that has been knotted, woven, or otherwise forced or coaxed to their wills. I recommend a visit to them when you have some time to cruise the sites — and wait for the pictures to load.

      William.


Leave a Reply

