Medicine Bottle #21, Covered By Two Turk’s Head Variants


Two knots cover this bottle, medicine bottle #21.

Two knots cover this bottle, medicine bottle #21.

 

Another piece from the “Medicine Bottle Collection”. If you have been reading along with the class, you know why I do these. The white knot on the lower part of this bottle lets me check for contents in dim lights. It’s much easier to go back to sleep if you haven’t had to stare into bright lights to read that Hellishly small and dim font they use on prescription bottles. I guess it allows them to put more information on a smaller label and use less ink — I would gladly pay them the 2 cents they save in doing so.

The knots on this bottle are, from the top:

This is a Turk’s Head variant of some kin to a Headhunter knot. It has 9 Leads X 7 Bights, doubled in black paracord. The weave is over 2, under 2, over 2 under 2. This makes a very handsome knot; the twill weave makes it more “grippy” than a standard weave. As near as I can figure, this is because the over 2 lets your finger have a clearer approach path to the edge of the cord on the opposite pass. It really doesn’t matter if it’s that or elfin magic at three in the morning — it just works.

The lower knot is a Turk’s Head knot of 5 Leads X 4 Bights, doubled in white paracord.

Thank you for coming by my site. I appreciate your visit. If you can think of any way I can improve my site or my knots, please let me know. Come back again; I try to keep something new up so the trip isn’t disappointing:
William

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://itsknotart.wordpress.com/2009/11/14/medicine-bottle-21-covered-by-two-turks-head-variants/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

