Number 6 In This Series Of Lamb’s Wool Dusters With Knotted Handles


A lamb's wool duster with the handle covered in a mix of Gaucho knots and Turk's Heads.

A lamb's wool duster with the handle covered in a mix of Gaucho knots and Turk's Heads.

This is the next woolly victim to be sacrificed to the Gods Of Knots And Cords. We bought these as gifts, but the handles were less than perfect. This made them perfect victims to be bound in cords for the pleasure of the Gods.

The knots used were:

The length of the handle was first covered in a 2 Bight Turk’s Head, tied in green utility cord. I had used similar knots on the previous 5 dusters and needed a change. I did a Gaucho knot interweave in white utility cord. It came out so nicely it almost seemed a shame to cover any of it up.

The left end of the long Gaucho knot was dressed by adding a Turk’s Head of 9 Leads X 5 Bights, doubled in black paracord.

The right end of the handle was first moused to increase the diameter. Over this I tied a Gaucho knot of 3 passes,  with a white lightning bolt.

The loop of cord is there as a hand loop, and also to reinforce the weak join of the plastic loop to the end of the handle. It is anchored under the mouse and Gaucho knot. The cord is then looped through the plastic end loop and has a macrame-like square knot tied around itself to hold the handle together.

After 6 wool dusters the Gods Of Knots should be satisfied. Maybe they will leave my store of cords alone. I’m tired of finding that they have somehow knotted themselves together when my back was turned.

I appreciate your coming by my site and having a look. If you see any way I can improve either my site or my knots please let me know. Come by again when you can; I try to keep something new up as a reward:
William

Published in: on October 9, 2009 at 7:17 PM  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://itsknotart.wordpress.com/2009/10/09/number-6-in-this-series-of-lambs-wool-dusters-with-knotted-handles/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

