The Last Of My Crochet Hook Knotting Tools … The Handles Made Of Turk’s Head Variants


A knotting tool made from Turk's Head variants tied over a crochet hook.

A knotting tool made from Turk's Head variants tied over a crochet hook.

A knotting tool made from Turk's Head variants tied over a crochet hook.

A knotting tool made from Turk's Head variants tied over a crochet hook

This is not the last of my¬† knotting tools … just the last of those which have knotted handles. If I only use a tool on widely spaced occasions, I don’t feel a great need to improve the hand grip. The larger hook on this one is sized for the utility cord that I use when paracord is too small. The much larger handle is because I have to pull very hard to work those knots tight.

The knots on this hook are:

The first knot applied to the tool is a 9 Lead X 2 Bight Turk’s Head knot, doubled in white paracord. This increased the diameter slightly, but not nearly enough.

The butt of the grip then got a 5 Lead X 3 Bight Turk’s Head. This made pushing the tool easier … but did little to help pulling back.

On top of this knot I put a 9 Lead X 5 Bight Turk’s Head. This was the base knot for a pineapple interweave, in bi-color.

This still left something out, so I added a 9 Lead X 5 Bight Turk’s Head, doubled in green paracord.

To give me fingertip control on close work, I put a small Spanish Ring knot in black paracord, near the nose of the original 2 Bight Turk’s Head. This made it easy to hold and allowed precise control on fine work. The large domed pad that you push against is very comfortable and works well.

This one of my ad hoc knotting methods… tie it, see if it works …if yes, leave it … if no, rip it back off. This is kin to my monkey method of knot tying, but is more focused and results oriented.

This knotted handle has been in use for 10 years. It has lately started showing wear. It is going to be stripped of all knots and redone. You can have a voice in this. Let me know what you think would look outstandingly good on this handle. I shall then sacrifice it to the Gods Of Ropes And Knots. Your idea will be enshrined for all eternity … or at least 10 years.

I greatly appreciate your stopping by to check out my parade of knots. If you have comments on how I can improve either my site or my knotting skills, I await your input eagerly. Wave to me the next time you see me at the parade:
William

Published in: on September 19, 2009 at 1:28 AM  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://itsknotart.wordpress.com/2009/09/19/the-last-of-my-crochet-hook-knotting-tools-the-handles-made-of-turks-head-variants/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

