Medicine Bottle #15: With A Gaucho Knot Of 1 Pass Having An Edge Interlacing


A medicine bottle with a Gaucho knot of 1 pass, in black cord, the edges laced with a white cord.

A medicine bottle with a Gaucho knot of 1 pass, in black cord, the edges laced with a white cord.

It is time to get back to my reserve of knot covered medicine bottles, this is # 15. One of the problems many knot tyers have is that, with a nearly addictive hobby, it is hard to keep it interesting. If you can’t find new ways to tie things it can start to feel like you are on piece work in an assembly line. Something which I have been exploring recently is interlacing the edges of Turk’s Heads and their kin. On two of my hot sauce bottles I interlaced the edges of the Turk’s Head themselves. You can see the first attempt here, and the second attempt here. In this knot I have interlaced both edges of a Gaucho knot of 1 pass. Instead of an abutting braided knot, I used one strand of paracord in another color. I think it looks good enough to pursue further. What do you think about it? I would greatly appreciate hearing your thoughts. You do not need to be a knot tyer to comment — we all know what we think looks good. The appearance of the finished knot is as important to me as much as the hidden secrets of its structure.

Thank you for stopping by to watch my parade of knots. I hope you enjoy looking as much as I enjoy making. See you next time:
William

Published in: on September 17, 2009 at 9:07 PM  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://itsknotart.wordpress.com/2009/09/17/medicine-bottle-15-with-a-gaucho-knot-of-1-pass-having-an-edge-interlacing/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

