The First Knots:


Knot covered hot sauce bottle

Knot covered hot sauce bottle

This is an example of my knotting: a hot suace bottle that is covered in turk’s head knots and their variations. They usually touch, but are tied and applied as the inspiration strikes. Sometimes a knot is tied as a lesson, but usually it is what I think will cover the spot and fit in with the appearance of the other knots.

Published in: on May 9, 2009 at 4:21 AM  Comments (2)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://itsknotart.wordpress.com/2009/05/09/the-first-knots/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That looks complicated as hell. I can needlepoint and sew, but I’m not sure my brain could handle that. The green cord doesn’t look as fat as the white — do you tie with different types?

    • You win the prize: you submitted my first comment so you get my first ever reply. (suitable to print and frame for your wall) Thank you for both the comment and the compliment. Yes, I use different cords for different effects. Most of these knots were tied in different colors of “paracord” that I get from “Sportsman’s Guide”. They seem to be the mill ends from “Gladding Braids”. This means that there is variation in color and texture from spool to spool. This is not a bad thing, as it means I get very inexpensive knotting cord, about $15.00 for 300 feet. Because it is just for my practice and not an item of commerce it does not need to be perfectly consistent. So yes, the white cord in the vertical lightening bolt shape is a little larger…in this spool. The Spanish Ring Knot that marks the shift from parallel sides to tapering top is also a different cord. This was tied with the white “utility cord” also from “Sportsman’s Guide”. It is not only a larger, but also a softer cord, so it grabs onto the slope a little better.

      If you would like to try your hand at another oh-so-habit-forming hobby let me know, and I would be happy to recommend some books fit for a beginning addict.

      Thanks again for taking the time to leave a comment, William.


Leave a Reply

