A Turk’s Head Knot Covering A Golf Ball Makes A Nice Key Fob, 5 Lead X 4 Bight X 5 Passes


A golf ball key fob, covered by a 5 Lead X 4 Bight X 5 Pass Turk's Head knot.

A golf ball key fob, covered by a 5 Lead X 4 Bight X 5 Pass Turk's Head knot.

A closer shot of the fob made from a 5 Lead X 4 Bight X 5 Pass Turk's Head.

A closer shot of the fob made from a 5 Lead X 4 Bight X 5 Pass Turk's Head.

 

 

Today’s post is of a key fob I made one day when I was using the “Monkey Method” of tying knots while watching TV. I didn’t really intend to make this, or anything else in particular. I just tie random knots to keep my fingers, and that portion of my mind that isn’t needed to keep up with the plot, busy. If the knot doesn’t have some striking asset, I untie it and use the cord to tie another knot. Every once in a while a knot is worth saving. This one seemed to be worthy, so I worked it down over a golf ball.

The knot is a 5 Lead X 4 Bight Turk’s Head. I followed the lead 5 times to get the coverage needed. I guess Ashley would say, that old time sailors say that it was doubled five times?? The loop was made by taking one of the ends and passing it back under the knot — then I trimmed the end off close, and worked it back under the knot.

It isn’t a perfect knot; the poles are a little crowded. It was good enough to serve as the key fob I needed at the time, and it was excellent practice. Of course, then I had to get another piece of cord and go back to knotting/watching TV.

Thank you for dropping by; come back again, I do enjoy your visits:
William

Published in: on November 18, 2009 at 1:16 AM  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://itsknotart.wordpress.com/2009/11/18/a-turks-head-knot-covering-a-golf-ball-makes-a-nice-key-fob-5-lead-x-4-bight-x-5-passes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

